The revolution of slowing down

“You’ve got to slow down and let yourself heal because open wounds don’t heal if they never close. Slow down darlin, not for me but for yourself because only you can do this. Only you know where the stitches belong” 
This week I want to be more intentional about slowing down. It’s unfair to expect anything I want to last to be rushed, so why rush my life? 
That’s how society is, we are always on the go and if it’s not quick and convenient we don’t want it. I don’t understand why we are all in a hurry, it’s not like any of us are going to make it out alive. So why not take the time to stop and enjoy life. Breathe through it and take the time to get to know and love ourselves. 
Slowing down gives me the time to breathe, recharge, take care of myself. The past few weeks I’ve been off work and I have been trying to rush myself to “get better” so I can rush back. In that I have caused myself more harm because I have not taken time to listen to my heart and let it heal. I can’t rush something that is out of my control. I’m hoping this week I will be able to slow down, relax and have faith that everything will work out and I will heal. It’s time to let go and let life happen. 
To me rushing is a fear. Fear of being late, fear of being inadequate, fear of failure. So instead of letting fear run my life, I’m going to choose to slow down and be intentional. If I’m late oh well. If it’s not done in time oh well, at least it’s done properly. Time to slow down and feel along the way. That’s how healing begins. I hope anyways, but it’s worth a shot. 

Leave a Reply

